Welcome To Alberta

Wild Rose Country

The province Alberta was named after Queen Victoria’s fourth daughter, Princess Louise Caroline Alberta. Its nicknames and slogans include “The Princess Province”, “The Energy Province”, “The Sunshine Province”, “‘Berta” and “Texas of the North”. 

The province of Alberta is one of the three Prairie Provinces and has borders with British Columbia, Manitoba, Northwest Territories and United States of America. The province has a diversified and resource based economy with its oil and gas/ energy sector being the primary driver of the economy. Other industries such as agriculture, manufacturing, technology, financial services and tourism also account for the growth of the economy. Alberta has the third largest petroleum reserves in the world and produced 67 per cent of Canada’s natural gas as well as 81 per cent of its crude oil in 2016. Major places of attraction in Alberta are Banff National Park, which is the home of two of the most beautiful lakes in the world, Lake Minnewanka ,  Athabasca Falls, Maligne Canyon, Icefields ParkwayGlacier Adventure tourRoyal Tyrrell Museum of Palaeontology,  Calgary’s National Music Centre,  Calgary’s WinSport,    Edmonton’s River Valley and West Edmonton Mall (which has the largest indoor amusement park).

Click on the buttons below to learn more about Alberta and get more details about settling down in the province.


Official Flag

The wild rose (Rosa acicularis) – Floral Emblem



The Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep – Official Animal



The great horned owl (Bubo virginianus) – Official Bird

The lodgepole pine (Pinus contorta- Official Tree

The bull trout (Salvelinus confluentus) – Official Fish

Photo credit: www.canada.ca;  Places of attraction: www.us-keepexploring.canada.travel