Welcome To Nova Scotia

Canada’s Ocean Playground

Nova Scotia was named “New Scotland” by Sir William Alexander. The official charter was in Latin hence the name, “Nova Scotia”. The province has other nicknames and slogans such as “The Sea Bound Coast”, “The Land of Evangeline” and “Bluenoser Province”.

The beautiful province which is part of Canada’s three maritime provinces and Atlantic Canada has geographical borders with four bodies of water: the Atlantic Ocean, the Northumberland Strait, the Bay of Fundy and the Gulf of St. Lawrence. Due to its geographic location, the economy of Nova Scotia is primarily driven by fishing, agriculture, forestry, mining and natural gas extraction. The province is known for its beautiful shores, historic seaside towns, lovely beaches, towering cliffs, lively festivals, trails, kayaking, hiking,  delicious seafood, wineries, whale watching and world-class golfing. Major places of interest include the Halifax Citadel National Historic Site,  Maritime Museum of the AtlanticFortress of Louisbourg, Peggy’s Cove Lighthouse, The Cabot Trail, Old Town Lunenburg, Skyline Trail and Bluenose II.

Click on the buttons below to learn more about Nova Scotia and get more details about settling down in the province.


Official Flag


The trailing arbutus / mayflower (Epigaea repens L) – Floral Emblem



The Nova Scotia duck tolling retriever – Official Animal


The osprey (Pandion haliaetus) – Official Bird


The red spruce (Picea rubens) – Official Tree

Agate – Official Gemstone

Official Tartan




Photo credit: www.canada.ca;  Places of attraction: www.us-keepexploring.canada.travel